A Few More Things

It’s great how some of these goals go hand in hand… for instance, going to Australia provided me with LOTS of flight time and airport time to read… and so I’ve added a few more books to my list of those read so far. They include:

“Tallgrass,” by Sandra Dallas – A story about a town in Colorado where a Japanese internment camp is put up nearby during WWII; told from the perspective of a 13-year old girl.

“Sarah’s Key,” by Tatiana de Rosnay – Another WWII historical novel, more or less, but this one is set in France and the WWII-era story is interwoven with the present day. I sobbed uncontrollably for several pages at a stretch near the end – absolutely heart-wrenching.

“The Poisonwood Bible,” by Barbara Kingsolver – It seemed as though half the world read this in high school, so I decided to see what the fuss was all about. Surprisingly compelling, and I loved how each of the women/girls had a distinctly different narrative voice.

“Brave New World,” by Aldous Huxley – Another one I felt like I probably should have already read by now (there are a lot of them…) Fascinating. I’m generally not into things that are basically sci-fi, but I enjoyed it, and Huxley was definitely ahead of his time as far as I’m concerned. Surprisingly relevant all these decades later.

“The Glass Castle,” by Jeannette Walls – And you thought your family was quirky/screwed up/special… It’s amazing how inspiring this memoir is, considering all the crap the family went through, and how much of it was their own doing. I couldn’t help but simultaneously cringe and cheer.

That brings me up to 7 books out of the goal of 100. Well on my way! And one country… I’m finding it a little funny that I’ve managed to go to Australia, New Zealand, China, Hong Kong, and a handful of countries in Europe… but I’ve never properly visited Canada or Mexico (I’ve decided that Niagara Falls does not count, even if I went over to the Canadian side). So those may have to be added to my travel agenda in the next year or two.

One Response to “A Few More Things”

  1. Tracy Says:

    I really want to read Brave New World… I think my mom has a copy, I should get that from her. I’ll be excited to talk to you about it once I’m done reading it!

Leave a Reply

