I Love NY!

Yesterday morning on my way to work I had one of those fabulous moments when NY feels a little more personal, a little more intimate, and a little more accessible. I was running a little late (well, late by my terms… I still got to work 15-20 min early) and rushing along the platform at Bleecker, where I was going to take the 6 train up to the office. I look up and – can you believe it? – Magda, one of my closest friends in NY, is standing right there! These are my favorite moments in life in NY. All of a sudden the sometimes overwhelmingly impersonal, vast feeling of the city melts away and you have an opportunity to really connect with someone you know in a chance encounter. Love it. ๐Ÿ™‚

When I first moved to NY, back in 2004, I filled much of my time by wandering random parts of the city. I was roaming around FIT, when I saw this sleek, glamorous silhouette approaching me, adorned in a flowing shirt dress and the most fantastic heels I have ever seen in my life. That’s when it hit me – I’m really in NY! Only here can I semi-regularly see men who are more stylish and glamorous than I can ever hope to be… The reason this comes up now is that on my way home last night, I passed two beautiful women on the sidewalk, dressed up to the nines and ready for a Friday night on the town. Legs that I would kill for, perfectly styled hair, and immaculately applied make-up… yep, you’ve got it – once they got closer, I could see that they were men. Haha. Such is life in the city!

On a side note, I got the most incredible compliment from my friend Carrie this morning. Carrie is Canadian, currently living in Australia. She’s adventurous, and exciting, and lives the life I dream about – working on cruise ships, moving to another country, traveling like crazy. She asked if I had heard about the job in Australia, deemed the Best Job in the World (I have, it’s http://www.islandreefjob.com, and I only have 22 days left to apply!) What absolutely thrilled me, is that Carrie went on to say that I would be “sooooooo perfect” for that job, and after she read my blog, it dawned on her that I would be great for it. SO EXCITING! As soon as I heard about it, I started thinking “Oh my goodness, they totally created this with me in mind!” but it’s completely different to have someone else tell you that you’d be great at it. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks Carrie! You made my day!

For those of you who are not aware, the tourism department in Australia has set up a competition/mass application process for a 6-month position as an island caretaker in the Great Barrier Reef region. Primary duties include: snorkeling around the reef and exploring all the islands have to offer, updating a weekly blog about your discoveries and experiences, participating in interviews with the media, cleaning the pool that they give you for your private use, and doing occasional mail runs. Umm… that has ME written all over it! So I need to get my act together, do some research, and find a digital camera and a competent friend/cameraperson to help me put together my 60 second video submission! Any takers? ๐Ÿ™‚

Tags:

One Response to “I Love NY!”

  1. Amanda P. Says:

    Yay, good luck. If I were in NY I would certainly help you. ๐Ÿ˜‰ How exciting!!!

Leave a Reply

